Pre Race 5 – East London

We are loading the Red Square truck and heading to East London’s Grand Prix Circuit, run by the Border
Motorsport Club! Welcoming two new members from there, although one would not say that Pierre le
Roux (#56) and Jason Lamb (#46) are strangers to the ZX10 Club, they both used to be members of the
Club in the distant past and we still got to see them at our events there. We are super exited having
them back in our midst and we are looking forward to this very fast circuit and the extra horsepower
courtesy of the fresh coastal air and sea-level. We can also call it our annual “road race” as the track is
used as roads every day. Imagine going through Potters Pass on a daily basis, can only be fun!

Sven Grüne (#66) currently leads the overall championship with 10 points, with Graeme van Breda (#1)
in second place. But there is also an epic battle for the third overall spot between Pieter de Vos (#17),
Gareth Bezuidenhout (#22) and Jaco Gous (#43). Gareth is also starting to catch up to Jaco in the
Masters Class championship and they are to be super focused at this event. These riders have just
proven themselves so much this season and all deserve the spot, really an exciting contest to keep your
eyes on. From the 7 th overall place to 10 th place there is a similar race happening between Michael Smit
(#49) who has 56 points, Appanna Ganapathy (#77) with 55 points, Johan le Roux (#44) and Jonty Collard
(#11) both with 54 points.

But there are also a few riders who have consistently improved their personal best times this year, and
they are sure to make an impact, such as Sifiso Thamba (#63), Jacques Ackermann (#70) and Rob Cragg
(#78) who has more experience at the coastal circuits, than the bunch from Gauteng. And also keep your
eyes on the two East Londoners, sure to wow the crowd.
Going to East London the points look like this:


1st Points 2nd Points 3rd Points
Overall Sven Grüne (#66) 185 Graeme van Breda (#1) 175 Pieter de Vos (#17) 98
Masters  Jaco Gous (#43) 180 Gareth Bezuidenhout (#22) 171 Michael Smit (#49)  111
Veterans Sven Grüne (#66)   185 Graeme van Breda (#1) 175  Sanjiv Singh (#12)  96
 Pieter de Vos (#17)  170  Teddy Brooke (#93)  144  Johan le Roux (#44)  132


On behalf of all the members of the ZX10 Masters Cup we would like to thank our sponsors:
Bridgestone, Kawasaki, and Red Square and a sincere thank you to everybody at MSA.

We will see you at the track!


Scroll to Top