Pre Race 5 – East London

We are loading the Red Square truck and heading to East London’s Grand Prix Circuit, run by the Border
Motorsport Club! Welcoming two new members from there, although one would not say that Pierre le
Roux (#56) and Jason Lamb (#46) are strangers to the ZX10 Club, they both used to be members of the
Club in the distant past and we still got to see them at our events there. We are super exited having
them back in our midst and we are looking forward to this very fast circuit and the extra horsepower
courtesy of the fresh coastal air and sea-level. We can also call it our annual “road race” as the track is
used as roads every day. Imagine going through Potters Pass on a daily basis, can only be fun!

Sven Grüne (#66) currently leads the overall championship with 10 points, with Graeme van Breda (#1)
in second place. But there is also an epic battle for the third overall spot between Pieter de Vos (#17),
Gareth Bezuidenhout (#22) and Jaco Gous (#43). Gareth is also starting to catch up to Jaco in the
Masters Class championship and they are to be super focused at this event. These riders have just
proven themselves so much this season and all deserve the spot, really an exciting contest to keep your
eyes on. From the 7 th overall place to 10 th place there is a similar race happening between Michael Smit
(#49) who has 56 points, Appanna Ganapathy (#77) with 55 points, Johan le Roux (#44) and Jonty Collard
(#11) both with 54 points.

But there are also a few riders who have consistently improved their personal best times this year, and
they are sure to make an impact, such as Sifiso Thamba (#63), Jacques Ackermann (#70) and Rob Cragg
(#78) who has more experience at the coastal circuits, than the bunch from Gauteng. And also keep your
eyes on the two East Londoners, sure to wow the crowd.
Going to East London the points look like this:


1st Points 2nd Points 3rd Points
Overall Sven Grüne (#66) 185 Graeme van Breda (#1) 175 Pieter de Vos (#17) 98
Masters  Jaco Gous (#43) 180 Gareth Bezuidenhout (#22) 171 Michael Smit (#49)  111
Veterans Sven Grüne (#66)   185 Graeme van Breda (#1) 175  Sanjiv Singh (#12)  96
 Pieter de Vos (#17)  170  Teddy Brooke (#93)  144  Johan le Roux (#44)  132


On behalf of all the members of the ZX10 Masters Cup we would like to thank our sponsors:
Bridgestone, Kawasaki, and Red Square and a sincere thank you to everybody at MSA.

We will see you at the track!


Zwartkops Race Schedule – 12 May 2018

Friday 11th May 2018 – Official Practice

Practice 1 Fri 8:00am
Practice 2 Fri 10:25am
Practice 3 Fri 13:30

Saturday 12th May 2018 – Race Day

Qualifying Sat 8:40am
Race 1 Sat 11:20am
Race 2 Sat 13:45pm

Competing Riders:

Surname Name Race # Class
1 Ackermann Jacques 70 A
2 Bezuidenhout Gareth 22 A
3 Bezuidenhout Greg 10 B
4 Brooke Teddy 93 C
5 Christie Stewie 65 C
6 Collard Jonty 11 A
7 De Vos Pieter 17 C
8 Ganapathy Appanna 77 A
9 Gous Jaco 43 A
10 Grüne Sven 66 B
11 Harwood Ian 24 B
12 Le Roux Johan 44 C
13 McLachlan Rodney 42 C
14 Oberholster Ruan 34 A
15 Seate Mmusapelo 80 A
16 Smit Michael 49 A
17 Spicer Wayne 90 B
18 Themba Sifiso 63 A
19 Van Breda Graeme 1 B
20 Van Vollenstee Andre 82 C

2018 Records

2018 Round 1 Race Winner:

Sven Grune

Best Lap (2011):


Steward McLeod

Average Speed (km/h)

Average Speed (km/h)145.4km/h

The Grand Prix

Zwartkops race track is an undulating road circuit 2,4 kilometres long circulated in a clock-wise direction. It has been designed to FIA/FIM International standards for racing vehicles of all categories with the exception of Formula One and Moto GP.
The track has a width of 10 metres over its entire length with the starting straight past the Pits, 12 metres wide. The run off areas and safety measures were designed utilising the speed profile of vehicles which can achieve lap times as low as 55 seconds.
Zwartkops can be categorised as a short circuit which has 8 corners of which three are fast and challenging and one corner being a 180 degree hairpin. Overtaking opportunities are good with 3 corners offering overtaking under braking.
Zwartkops is a “technical circuit” with three of the corners having compound radii, and the track has been designed to enable competent competitors achieve fast lap times.”